The results are in – and even though we didn’t take home the gold, the team at LAIKA had a big presence at this year’s VES awards in LA.  ParaNorman was nominated in several categories:

Outstanding Animation in an Animated Feature Motion Picture
Chris Butler
Sam Fell
Travis Knight
Brad Schiff

Outstanding Created Environment in an Animated Feature Motion Picture

Phil Brotherton
Robert Desue
Oliver Jones
Nick Mariana

Main Street
Alice Bird
Matt Delue
Caitlin Pashalek

Outstanding FX and Simulation Animation in an Animated Feature Motion Picture
Practical Volumetrics

Aidan Fraser
Joe Gorski
Eric Kuehne
Andrew Nawrot

Angry Aggie Ink-Blot Electricity
Michael Cordova
Grant Laker
Susanna Luck
Peter Vickery


Ah, you’ll get ’em next time.  And apparently the next chance will come on a 2014 feature announced today, entitled The Boxtrolls, reports the Portland Business Journal and others who picked up the wire.  This is based on Alan Snow’s book Here Be Monsters.  Due October 17, 2014 – and to that can I just say THANK GOD THEY ARE FINALLY BRINGING OUT A LAIKA MOVIE FOR HALLOWEEN.  It’s about time.  Own it, guys!